any scooter or moped suggestions?

So here it goes. My commute to the train is short by most standards. I live less than 3 miles from my train station. I ride my bike to the train pretty often which I like but there is the reality that on some days doing so for me is impractical because I need to wear a suit, or I don’t want to be sweaty, etc.

I have been looking online at Craigslist.com primarily to pick up a scooter or moped. I hope to use it as the primary mode of train transportation and to run a few errands in town if necessary instead of using my car.

Quick details that may help form opinions. I am about 6″ 245lbs. I don’t expect to go further than into town and home, I don’t need the fastest wheels and I don’t want one with biggert than a 50cc engine.

I like the look of the Vespas but have no desire to spend 3-5K on this, I’d actually like to spend $1,000 or less. I seem to think the Honda Metro, Yamaha Zuma, seem to be reliable and some people seem a little off put by the Korean bikes (Kymco). Since I know buck nothing about all of this any thoughts you have would be cool.

2 Responses to any scooter or moped suggestions?

  1. Jim says:

    Kymcos are solid machines, and it’s from Taiwan not Korea. You won’t go wrong with one!

  2. Thanks for sharing this information!

    I believe that scooters are one answer to the growing problem of pollution and global warming! They are perfect for commuting within a city, or for any short trip.

    I also have a website about scooters that you may wish to check out. Feel free to visit at: http://www.electricscooteroutlet.com

    Thanks again!

Leave a comment